Health and Wellness

Course Descriptions

  • 0452.68 Health and Wellness - Grades Six-Eight

    Health and Wellness, grade six, grade seven, and grade eight, provides for the continued development of attitudes and behaviors related to becoming a health-literate individual as part of a planned, sequential, comprehensive health education curriculum that uses the Indiana Academic Standards for Health and Wellness to support student development of essential health skills within the ten health content areas. Developmentally appropriate concepts of personal and community health; safety and injury prevention; nutrition and physical activity, mental health; alcohol, tobacco and other drug use; and family life and human sexuality are areas used for skill development. The adolescent student has instructional opportunities to investigate how health behaviors impact health, well-being, and disease prevention and to accept personal responsibility for health-related decisions. Along with the current academic standards for this subject, the Science/Technical Studies Content Area Literacy Standards are incorporated with the expectation of a continuum of reading and writing skills development.

  • Grade 6

  • Grade 7

  • Grade 8